The Border: An Eagles Message Board

Go Back   The Border: An Eagles Message Board > Band Member Discussion Areas > Glenn Frey

Glenn Frey Even when we are apart, you'll always be in my heart.

Old 01-12-2018, 12:56 PM   #1
OntheBorder74
Border Desperado

Default Why Glenn Frey is my Idol

Hi Glenn fans, Freyniacs ok those dumb names for us Frey Fans lol.

In memory of Glenn on the second year anniversary I wanted share the core reason Glenn was so special. We all can only really choose one idol and Glenn was mine so I'm going to open up to you about why that is.

Glenn Frey came along was an identity for I was a young confused university student who couldn't relate to clubbing lifestyle and my poor choice of degree.
But when I got fully into the Eagles in 2012 I was 21 well I don't know how that road turned onto the road I am on.

This will sound sad but he finally gave me a direction a goal of the personality I wanted. He had the right mix of exuberance and cynicism, macho and feminine, Rock and pop and soul, danger and easygoing, laidback and tough.
The next year I did a charity hitchhike across Europe it was a disaster as my partner lost her wallet but when we came across a large a CD shop in Barcelona the only thing I got out of all the choice was the Glenn Frey Solo hits Universal collection.

When I went to my one and only Eagles show in the summer of 2014 in Manchester arena I stared at Glenn in his white shirt who was so far away but so near. I now wish I shelled out more money for a seat closer instead of being almost by the roof lol. But when I heard he passed I ultimately felt grateful we had that one special evening together. Thanks OTB74
Old 01-12-2018, 04:43 PM   #2
Brooke

Location: Down some endless road just south of nowhere (Missouri)
Default Re: Why Glenn Frey is my Idol

Thank you for sharing your story, OtB74! I'm glad you found Glenn's and the Eagles music! I will agree it's wonderful!

Concerts make great memories, too!