Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carrie Underwood in the Sound of Music Live on NBC

Stuck on the Border MaryCalifornia's Avatar

Default Carrie Underwood in the Sound of Music Live on NBC

Did anyone else see it? I thought she did a wonderful job. Not her genre for singing, not an actress by trade, three hour performance with no opportunity for a re-do. I can't think of anything more difficult or stressful for a performer. And, that type of broadcast hasn't been attempted in over 50 years (i.e. live full-length musical on a network). Thanks to NBC for doing it, I hope they do more in the future.

Down some endless road just south of nowhere (Missouri)

Default Re: Carrie Underwood in the Sound of Music Live on NBC

It's not my cup of tea, and I've never watched the movie other than bits and pieces, but I thought she did a fantastic job for the hour that I struggled through it.
    https://i.imgur.com/CuSdAQM.jpg
    "They will never forget you 'till somebody new comes along"
    1948-2016 Gone but not forgotten

I had no desire to even watch this...there are certain things you don't mess with...and the Sound of Music is one of them...just my opinion!...

I did not see it last night, but will watch it just to see Audra McDonald, Laura Benanti and Christian Borle. I was happy to hear they used some real Broadway talent in addition to having "name" leads who will draw in an audience.

I adore the movie, but really like the fact that they broadcast a live musical on network TV. I think back to when I was a kid and had no access to live theater where I lived. I would have loved watching something like this. Anything that brings Audra McDonald's glorious singing voice to TV can't be all bad

Oooh, I forgot to mention I only saw the first hour or so. I didn't see her interactions with the Captain.